By invitation only!
Camden Fort Meagher
Crosshaven, Cork Harbour
2015 Open from Saturday 30th May – Sunday 13th September.
Every Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holiday Monday from 12 Noon to 5.00pm.
Last entry 4.15pm.
Private tours are available for groups of 12 or more.
Contact (085) 850 1483 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
More to follow shortly…..
The Little Museum of Dublin
15 St.Stephen’s Green, Dublin.2.
Telephone (01) 661 1000
“First opening its doors in 2011, The Little Museum of Dublin is one of the city’s youngest attractions – but one that has already made its mark on the cultural landscape of Ireland, even being nominated for the 2012 European Museum of the Year Award. Housed in a handsome Georgian residence at 15 St. Stephen’s Green, the Little Museum is home to a rich and eclectic collection which tells a people’s history of Dublin city from the turn of the 20th century to the present day.
Almost every object in the museum has been donated by ordinary Dubliners, from art, photographs, and advertising ephemera, to fragments of Nelson’s column, a lectern (well, music stand) used by JFK when addressing the Dáil, and a handwritten postcard from Samuel Beckett. From the sweeping and political to the prosaic and personal, the objects on display – and hidden away, and tucked into nooks and crannies for intrepid visitors to uncover – weave a vibrant tapestry depicting the social and cultural history of Dublin, sometimes funny, sometimes poignant, and always fascinating.
The Little Museum’s entertaining and knowledgeable guides lead tours through the museum on the hour, every hour, unveiling the hidden stories behind some of the museum’s most curious treasures. A special treat are the personal tours given by the staff at the heart of the Little Museum: director Trevor White at 1pm on Fridays for the lunchtime crowd, and curator Simon O’Connor at 7pm on Thursdays, when the museum is open late.
Beyond its collection, the Little Museum delivers free civics classes to primary and post-primary students every morning, and its popular annual lecture series for Friends of the Museum features experts delivering lectures on a wealth of topics concerning Dublin’s social, cultural, literary, and even gastronomic history. The museum also plays host to the City of a Thousand Welcomes initiative, where visitors to Dublin can sign up to meet one of a host of volunteer Dubliners, and to go for a complimentary cup of tea (or a pint!) while discussing life in Dublin, the must-sees and must-avoids, and insider tips on getting to grips with one of Europe’s top cultural destinations.
Just a minute’s walk from the bustling central thoroughfare of Grafton Street, always ready to welcome new faces, and bursting at the seams with the enduring, collective memory of its people, the Little Museum truly embodies the heart of Dublin city.
Opening Hours: Mon-Sun 9:30am – 5.00pm, late opening Thursdays to 8.00pm
Admission: Adults €6, Seniors €5, Students €4, Jobseekers Free”
Headhunters Barber Shop & Railway Museum
5 Darling Street, Enniskillen, Co.Fermanagh, BT74 7DP.
Located in the town centre, ten minutes walk from Enniskillen Bus Station.
Contact: Tel. (048) 6632 7488 or email@example.com
Facilities: Museum, toilet facilities and traditional barber shop.
Opening Hours: Open all year round, Tuesday-Saturday 9.00am – 5.30pm. Closed Bank Holidays.
A traditional barber’s shop but not as we know it!
A trip to Headhunters Barber Shop & Railway Museum is like taking a remarkable journey into the past bringing the golden age of the railway vividly to life. Although the railway network within Fermanagh closed in 1957 visitors can recall the memories, emotional appeal and excitement associated with the nostalgic era of steam travel. Admission to the museum is free and is certainly a unique way of learning about Fermanagh’s railway heritage. Established in 2002, with the help of former railway employees and enthusiasts this exhibition lovingly recreates working environments such as the General Manager’s Office, Station Booking Office and Railway Signal Box. This is complemented by a remarkable collection of railway memorabilia including uniforms, signalling instruments, signs, lamps, tableware, timetables, tickets and photographs from the three railway companies which operated throughout Co. Fermanagh and the border counties – The Great Northern Railway (Ireland), The Sligo, Leitrim & Northern Counties Railway and The Clogher Valley Railway. Whether you are a railway enthusiast, former railway employee or just a child brought up on ‘Thomas the Tank Engine’, why not combine your visit with a unique opportunity to have your hair professionally styled in the most nostalgic surroundings. It certainly is a Barbers Shop with a ‘rail’ difference!
Other Local Attractions: Within ten minutes walking distance are Enniskillen Castle Museums, The Buttermarket Craft Centre, Forthill Park & Coles Monument and the MV Kestrel Waterbus to Devenish Island. Other local attractions include Marble Arch Caves, Belleek Pottery, Castle Archdale Country Park, Sheelin Irish Lace Museum and National Trust properties at Florence Court, Castlecoole and Crom.
Further information here: www.discovernorthernireland.com
Tipperary Agricultural & Heritage Museum
Golden, Cashel, Co.Tipperary
Tel: Liam (087) 259 2125
Monday/Saturday from 9.00am – 6.00pm
Sunday from 2.00pm – 6.00pm
* More to follow shortly.